First Student Charter Bus Rentals

Average Rating 3.5 3.5/5
,
(800) 844-5588
http://www.firstcharterbus.com/
BusRates.com member since 8/3/2012
First Student Charter Bus Rentals
  • HORRIBLE

    For one the bus was a hour and a half late. He didn't print out directions for the location we was going. Which was really strange because you think a bus driver would have directions already ready, so he knows where he's going. we travelled to bear mountain and one of the cashier used her phone as GPS. the closer we got to bear mountain we lost service on the cell phone. we got lost for about a half an hour making us even more late going to our destination ( if the bus driver had printed directions we would have NEVER got lost). Another thing is his driving skills. there was numerous times were he hit the brakes really hard and everyone on the bus when jerking forward. We wouldn't be using this bus company next year because of that reason. My team Leader felt it was really unsafe the way the bus driver was driver. no sense in using First Student bus company if they cant get you to your destination SAFETLY !

    Review By
    Sashura Douglas
    Travelled
    07/22/2014
    Posted
    July 25, 2015 at 08:33 AM
  • Awesome Wedding Shuttle Service

    We used first student to do a shuttle service at our wedding, and were literally blown away by the service we received! The staff were very helpful leading up to the day, helping us get organized and customizing the service we needed! First student was very affordable as well. The bus was beautifully adorned with white ribbons when it arrived to pick up our guests, and the driver was amazing! He was so friendly and cheerful and went out of his way to make the guests comfortable and happy (including walking elderly guests into the hotel!)

    Review By
    A happy bride
    Travelled
    June 20 2015
    Posted
    June 24, 2015 at 05:47 AM
  • Darnelle the best there is!!!!!!!

    Cannot wait to use this service again. Our bus driver, Darnelle was the best. He was on time and met us at the designated spot. Cannot say enough good things about him. I had middle school/high school kids going to Cards game and unfortunately it rained but we still were able to enjoy the game. We started a new tradition of passing the hat and were able to give him a pretty good tip which was exciting for the kids to see that it is important to recognize those that work hard. Texted him the next day to thank him again and said that he would not hesitate to drive us again. That makes me the leader very happy. Thank you guys for all that you do.

    Review By
    2 Rivers Church
    Travelled
    June 16, 2015
    Posted
    June 22, 2015 at 10:50 AM
  • Wedding

    The booking and everything was very easy and professional. However, the day of the event, the bus arrived an hour early, sat in the parking lot with the lights on and, naturally, the bus died by the time the event was over at 10:30. The bus driver said another bus was on the way after everyone was waiting outside for 30 minutes, 11:00. 45 minutes passed, now quarter of midnight, and a tow truck shows up, takes 20 minutes to jump the bus, which quickly died after. Now it's 12:30 and finally another bus show ups and we all pile onto the new bus to get home. While on the drive home the lights on the bus were kept on the entire time we were on the highway because the woman didn't know where she was going, who in CT can;t manage to get to Sikorsky's right off the highway is beyond me. She sat there for an hour and killed the battery, why wasn't she going over the directions? So with the lights on the entire ride on the highway a passenger gave directions. We booked the hotel to have an after party for my wedding, and by the time the bus arrived everyone was tired and went home. So not only did we waste our money on this bus, we also ultimately wasted money on booking the hotel because by the time we got there we all went to sleep. Probably the worst part of the night!

    Review By
    Bride
    Travelled
    April 2015
    Posted
    June 18, 2015 at 01:08 PM
  • First Student Review

    We used First Student for two one-way transfers on a 46-seater school bus. They responded quickly and gave the best quote. It was by far the most reasonable price. We required a luggage bus and I was informed it could not be guaranteed that far in advance so I continued to check up on them to ensure we would get it. The person I communicated with over email was nice and responded quickly. I received confirmation over email and the receipt- the payment was charged one week prior to the trip as agreed. I had to request a time change for pick-up which they easily accommodated. Two days before the trip, I got emailed confirmation that we would get the luggage bus we requested. On the day of the trip, the bus arrived on time, but it was not a luggage bus. I spoke to the bus driver and we called the company as she even saw that we had been guaranteed a luggage bus on paper. On the phone, they were extremely rude and refused to honour their guarantee. We were forced to pile all our luggage into the bus which was a serious safety threat. If a few students hadn't dropped out last minute, we would not have been able to fit in the bus with our luggage. The company refused to make any accommodations, would not send us a second bus or a replacement bus. The company never followed up or offered anything for their own mistake and disrespect. The one thing I can say, is our bus drivers both ways were very kind people. Next time, I would much rather pay more money for a bus company that is actually honourable and considerate of their clients. i will never use First Charter again because of their poor customer service and unreliability.

    Review By
    high school after-prom trip
    Travelled
    May/June 2015
    Posted
    June 04, 2015 at 06:09 PM
  • First Student Charters

    I chartered several bus trips with First student on the weekend of April 18-19. The drivers were very professional and personable. They were all on time and got us where we needed to be efficiently. I would definitely recommend this company.

    Review By
    University of the Pacific Rugby Club
    Travelled
    April 2015
    Posted
    May 05, 2015 at 10:35 AM
  • Bus Review

    Reservation: It was easy to reserve the bus and I was provided a timely quote. I was able to send over my itinerary and payment was easy. Communication: The morning of our trip I received a call from the local St. Louis office and they hadn't received my itinerary and had no idea where to pick us up. I was able to email her with the information and she provided it to the bus driver. The Trip: Our bus driver, Anthony, was awesome! He has a lot to deal with, a bus full of people going to breweries and it was snowing. He got us safely to each location and even extended his time to accommodate for the slow driving. He made our day really great and I would like to thank him again!

    Review By
    FeBREWary Tour - Kendra
    Travelled
    02/28/2015
    Posted
    March 03, 2015 at 09:59 AM
  • Wedding Transportation

    We used buses from First Student for wedding day transportation for our guests at the end of the ceremony (Pearl Stables to Drury Plaza in San Antonio, TX). The buses were on-time, clean, and provided a safe alternative for guests to get home from our reception. (While my husband was initially concerned about using school buses - I don't think any of our guests noticed/thought it was strange... they were just thankful!) First Student provided us a very competitive quote, flexibility in booking, and a responsive staff. I would recommend them for any similar situation.

    Review By
    Newlyweds
    Travelled
    Feb 2015
    Posted
    February 28, 2015 at 06:32 PM
  • Elementary School trip to Vail, Colorado

    It was a great big deal to win a trip to Vail, Colorado, for our students to see the World Champion Snowboarding event! Since it was a busy week, with buses going to Vail for this major event, we had to reach out of our local area to find bus transportation. What a wonderful experience we had. This is a huge company with large amounts of availability. The buses were wonderful, and had all kinds of amenities. Dealing with Matt Del Giorno at the Staten Island office (clear across country) was a pleasure! He even called me from his home when the east coast was pummeled with a major snowstorm. Our experience was great!

    Review By
    Principal and teacher riders.
    Travelled
    February 10, 2015
    Posted
    February 19, 2015 at 05:46 PM
  • Trip Cancelation

    Confirmed a field trip for 65 students that was set up months ago. This wonderful company left a message one week before our trip that they could not provide the busses they had confirmed. Scrambling now to get busses so we don't miss this field trip. The company left a voicemail message after hours and sent an e-mail the next morning letting me know of the cancellation. This company should be ashamed of this non professional behavior.

    Review By
    4th Grade Teacher
    Travelled
    February 4, 2015
    Posted
    January 28, 2015 at 08:31 PM
  • AMAZING SERVICE

    on time picking up, on time dropping off, was very kind and professional.

    Review By
    Sean
    Travelled
    New Years Eve 2014
    Posted
    January 05, 2015 at 11:38 PM
  • Company changed for the worse

    For a number of years i have had good experiences with First Student. However, this year after a month had passed, I received a note with no name or extension number on it suggesting that I change my time to fit better with the Bus Company. Very sad that personal service changed to impersonal.

    Review By
    University Field Trip
    Travelled
    March 2015 - intended
    Posted
    December 17, 2014 at 10:51 AM
  • Short an sweet

    Even if it was a short ride for us the personal (both driver and office) were professional and made it a nice experience. Also I want to mention their rates - which are the lowest from all other companies I researched - so if you need a school bus you know who to contact.

    Review By
    christmas party group
    Travelled
    12th December
    Posted
    December 15, 2014 at 07:03 AM
  • Bus to transport between event venues

    First Student proved to be a reliable and efficient company. They were easy to schedule with and had competitive rates. They were professional in all our dealings--calling in advance to confirm, showing up on time-- and got the job done efficiently and without incident. I recommend them highly.

    Review By
    Parent
    Travelled
    November 2014
    Posted
    November 25, 2014 at 12:49 PM
  • School Event

    Recently used this service to take a bunch of classmates to a baseball game. Getting the reservation wasn't too difficult and the trip went smoothly. Until I received a 50$ surcharge for some random "Waiting Fee". A week later they refunded me the money. However now 3 months later I get a bill in the mail for 50$ that is now going to collections and an increasing number of phone calls. They seem to care a whole awful lot about their 50$. Logistical nightmares make this company a last resort.

    Review By
    Wes
    Travelled
    July 2014
    Posted
    November 10, 2014 at 09:30 AM
  • Excellent Service

    I used First Student Charter Bus Rentals for an youth outing that I ran through my work. Getting the rental was easy and didn't have a lot of hassle. I should have gotten a smaller bus due to the number of people that attended, but the bus driver was fantastic, patient and understanding. He did his best to accomedate all of our needs, including making a few stops to drop some youth off. Overall, the experience with administration and with the trip was great.

    Review By
    Metis Nation of Ontario
    Travelled
    October 17 2014
    Posted
    November 06, 2014 at 08:30 AM
  • Great field trip on Saturday November 1

    We are happy to report our field trip involving two schools was a big success. Our bus driver was awesome. Our booking was easy with Virtue! Would highly recommend First Student.

    Review By
    MIranda Kamal, Boxing Club
    Travelled
    November 01, 2014
    Posted
    November 05, 2014 at 09:02 AM
  • Great wedding transportation!

    We hired a bus to transport our wedding guests from the hotel to the church and to the reception. For the price, it's an amazing deal for 3 hours and transporting 40 people! Heard bus driver got a little lost, but that's the only complaint we received.

    Review By
    Bride
    Travelled
    10-12-14
    Posted
    October 22, 2014 at 10:36 AM
  • Bus Used for Wedding Transport

    A First Student Charter Bus was intended to deliver our guests from their hotels to our wedding reception. We reserved one bus and planned for the bus to stop at two hotels on its way to the reception and to make two rounds in this manner to accommodate our guests. On the first trip, the bus only made a stop at the first hotel and did not stop at the second hotel. During this time, I tried to call the ‘day-of event’ contact numbers repeatedly to understand why the second stop was not made. My guests at the second hotel were stranded waiting for the bus. My phone calls were not answered and I received no response to the messages I left. Even still, 3 weeks later I still have not received a return call. As it turns out, the bus was full and could not feasibly make the second stop. While I understand this, the upsetting part is that I could not contact anyone during my event to have this situation explained or justified. The bus driver was pleasant and did his job as intended, my dissatisfaction is with the fact that I could not reach any company representatives when it counted most (nor have I heard from anyone since). I would not recommend this company.

    Review By
    Kerri Nelson
    Travelled
    9/20/2014
    Posted
    October 08, 2014 at 03:07 PM
  • Great for a Tour

    First Student customer service was very helpful. They arranged the trip quickly and for a good price. The driver was courteous. I would use them again! The only suggestion is that if you are booking a bus for a specific route, it might be helpful to have someone direct the driver along the route while someone else is talking. The driver is only provided with your printed directions and he/she may be unfamiliar with the route.

    Review By
    Watershed Tour Event
    Travelled
    August 23, 2014
    Posted
    September 03, 2014 at 08:57 AM
  • Bus Rental Experience

    This was my first time using your bus service and it was pleasant experience. The drivers was nice and made us feel comfortable and safe the entire ride. Thanks!

    Review By
    Office Event
    Travelled
    August 20th
    Posted
    August 21, 2014 at 02:19 PM
  • Awesome Experience

    We chartered a bus for our department team building event. The service was awesome, arrived on time for departure and return trip, driver was friendly and courteous, and planned the best route for door to door delivery. Picked us up right outside our door and dropped us off at the door where we were going (Brit's Pub). When our event was over - the bus was right outside our door to pick us up and bring up back to work. Very happy with the level of service provided for all aspects of our round trip. And the price charged was less than all the other companies we had gotten quotes from!

    Review By
    Department Admin
    Travelled
    June 18, 2014
    Posted
    July 23, 2014 at 10:40 AM
  • Bus did not show up for wedding

    I booked a bus for my wedding to shuttle guests back and forth from the hotel to the reception. I booked several months in advance and called to confirm prior to the day. The bus never showed up. When I called the "day of" numbers they provided me at time of booking, no one picked up the phone. They charged my credit card a few days prior to the event. After no luck getting in touch with someone the day of the event, I had to call them the next day to get a refund and an explanation. The explanation was "there was a mix up" and they were not apologetic. I wasted my cocktail hour trying to track the bus down and get my guest to the wedding. That is time at my own wedding I will never get back. I have never been so frustrated and disappointed in a service as I was with First Student.

    Review By
    Amy
    Travelled
    June 2014
    Posted
    July 12, 2014 at 09:19 PM
  • Awesome!

    We traveled to Kershaw Park in Canandaigua and to Darien Lake with Tonisha Davis, she was a fabulous driver! We felt safe with her. She took the route in which I wanted her to travel. She was prompt arriving in the morning and when we were ready for pick up. She was very personable. This was my first time with this bus company and although I think your rates are hiring than Monroe, I would return because of this driver!

    Review By
    Vicki B
    Travelled
    July,3,10, 2014
    Posted
    July 11, 2014 at 03:58 AM
  • Would Not Recommend - Bus never showed up!

    I reserved a bus in May to transport 26 people, including myself, to First Niagra Pavilion for a concert in June. I called one hour and 15 minutes before the bus was scheduled to arrive. The woman I spoke with confirmed that the payment was received, gave me the pick up address and time and number of people and said everything looked good. Come 6PM (scheduled pick up time) the bus still hadn't arrived. I gave it some time, thinking rush hour traffic had caused the delay. I called the number listed on the confirmation page and the woman I spoke with was no help. She said she didn't have a bus scheduled for me, although I had just confirmed less than 2 hours prior. She eventually hung up on me and quit answering the phone. All of the concert-goers had to scramble and pack into cars to make it to the concert. I emailed First Student the Sunday after the concert with names of the people I spoke with, a copy of my confirmation, a copy of my bank statement showing the trip was paid for, names of the people I spoke with along with the times, dates, and lengths of the calls. I called Monday morning and they had already forwarded the email to the complaint department and management. I received my refund within 24 hours. Although I did appreciate their prompt action in the matter, I did not receive a call from management to apologize for the inconvenience. All I received was a "Do Not Reply" email from the billing department showing my refund had been approved. I wish someone would have contacted me personally, but it's safe to say that I would not recommend anyone to use this company. By the looks of the other reviews, it seems that First Charter often strands its paying customers, and do not issue an apology.

    Review By
    Jamie
    Travelled
    June 27, 2014
    Posted
    July 01, 2014 at 10:42 AM
  • Music Week Buses

    We had 3 short trips on 3 different days scheduled for approximately 35 kids. The buses arrived on time and the drivers were friendly. The booking staff were very helpful and very kind. We would definitely use them again. I really liked the way they sent an e-mail confirmation 2 days before each trip so that we were assured that everything was going according to plans.

    Review By
    Christ Lutheran Music Week Staff
    Travelled
    06/23,6/25,6/26
    Posted
    June 27, 2014 at 10:53 AM
  • 50th for my husband

    The experience we had was great. The only glitch was that the driver was just over 10 min late. But he was quick to apologize and get us on our way. He was pleasant and professional. Bus was clean. I would use First Student again. Thank you Sylvie Foulds

    Review By
    SylvieFoulds
    Travelled
    June 21st 2014
    Posted
    June 26, 2014 at 05:26 PM
  • Don't Even Think About It

    First of all its costumer service is dreadful. They raise prices over 20% every year to see how much they can get out of you. Every time I have reserved busses they have put me on hold most of the call. It took them 3 times to get a quote and the trip plan correct, and they frequently switched destinations. I literally had to walk them through every mistake they made every time and they did not fix the problem. Secondly they inappropriately charged us a $1,000 damage fee, which they did not have evidence to prove and was hell to fight. We are considering perusing legal action over inappropriate comments made by one of First Student's drivers, and the refusal to let students off the bus to go to the bathroom, stopping on the side of the road to smoke multiple times, and lying that a rest stop was closed to save time. In addition the bus drivers stopped on the side of the freeway to let students out to have lunch, putting their lives in danger. At other times, specifically on a trip to Stevens pass, their busses have shown up hours late in freezing temperatures, leaving students at risk of hypothermia and frost bite. We will never use this company again, and are disappointed with every step of its service. Use a different company, even if it seems to be more expensive. It will be well worth your while.

    Review By
    Garfield Outdoor Education
    Travelled
    May 2014
    Posted
    June 15, 2014 at 03:44 PM
  • Wedding transportation

    Everything was great and the bus driver was very friendly. I would use our charter again and would refer them to anyone I know that is in need of similar transportation.

    Review By
    John Mielke - Groom
    Travelled
    05/24/14
    Posted
    May 29, 2014 at 07:36 PM
  • No show, almost missed flight

    We booked First Student to provided transportation to/from Airport for group of 43 people. We had pre-paid and received a confirming contract. We had emailed to confirm we had our arrangements correct and thought everything should be ready to go. Our group was made up of 25 people supported by our agency and their support professionals, taking the group on a dream vacation to Hawaii. First Student's bus never showed up and the emergency number I was given was only an office message machine. It was a very stressful start to our vacation to come up with a last minute plan to get 43 people to the airport 75 miles away. We also had difficulties on return due to our last minute changes. First Student says they will refund our payment, but the stress they have added to our vacation has not been addressed. In the past we have used Mid-Columbia, we have always been very pleased with their services and would highly recommend you avoid our mistake, book with Mid-Columbia.

    Review By
    Non-Profit provider of supports to people with dis
    Travelled
    April 2014
    Posted
    May 02, 2014 at 02:32 PM
  • Bus never showed & getting a refund was difficult

    I paid for, and confirmed a bus through First Student for a Saturday event. When I didn't see a bus 15 minutes past my scheduled pickup time I contacted the "day of event" phone number provided, which goes to an after-hours answering service. The answering service does not have anything to do with reservations. All they are able to do is hang up and then pass on the message. Despite my multiple calls to the answering service (speaking with a different person each and every time), and providing 3 different phone numbers where I could be reached for a status update, it took a First Student rep over an hour to contact me, only to tell me that my trip was not on the schedule for the day. Though she did offer to send someone in 30 minutes, my group could not wait any longer and had to arrange for alternate transportation. On Monday morning, I contacted the main office and was told that my complaint would have to be investigated before a refund could be issued and that someone would contact me within 24-48 hours. When I hadn't heard from anyone by Thursday morning (now 72 hours later) I called again and a rep told me my complaint had been escalated to 3 higher managers and that he would try his best to get someone to contact me back the same day. After not receiving a call back, the following day I contacted the branch and learned that the branch manager had verified that I wasn't provided a bus and I was entitled to a refund 2 days earlier. I contacted the main office again and asked that someone contact me back and let me know when I would be receiving my refund. A short time later I received a "do not reply" email confirming my refund was processed. However, First Student did not have the courtesy of contacting me directly to let me know the refund had been processed or apologize otherwise. Although everyone I spoke to was pleasant, I felt like I had to hound and nag in order for my refund to be processed after they failed to satisfy my transportation needs. Furthermore, the fact that my complaint was escalated to 3 people in upper management and still not handled in a timely manner makes me question the competency of the company.

    Review By
    FSW, Inc.
    Travelled
    April 12, 2014
    Posted
    April 18, 2014 at 01:17 PM
  • First Student school bus rental

    We used the bus to take our group to a camp retreat. The bus driver took the longest route to get us there so we were over an hour late. The driver was a very nice man, though. We weren't impressed when our bus didn't pick us up on time for the return home. The driver was 1.5 hours late because she got lost on the way there. I feel it's the driver's one primary responsibility to know where they are going before they come get us. I was not impressed with this. Will likely choose a different company for the next trip.

    Review By
    Group leader
    Travelled
    March 2014
    Posted
    April 03, 2014 at 11:02 AM
  • Best Charter Bus Company!

    Used First Student for a personal group event. They were excellent! We had two pickup locations and they didn't hesitate to accommodate us. The driver was on time, pleasant and an excellent, careful driver. We have another group event in May and I will use First Student again.

    Review By
    The Loop Group
    Travelled
    March 29, 2014
    Posted
    April 01, 2014 at 12:45 PM
  • First Student Charter Dec 29/13

    Great experience...easy booking, bus was there waiting 15 mins ahead of schedule. Driver was knowledgeable and courteous. Trip overall was A1.

    Review By
    Burlington Eagles Hockey
    Travelled
    December 2013
    Posted
    January 25, 2014 at 12:23 PM
  • Bar Mitzvah Transport

    We were very pleased with our service. We hired 2 buses to transport 80 7th graders from the Temple to the hotel. Both buses were on time and it made the day very easy. Thank you

    Review By
    Parent
    Travelled
    1/4/14
    Posted
    January 08, 2014 at 08:22 AM
  • Great experience

    Correspondence was great, driver was very polite and very accommodating.

    Review By
    Family Christmas light tour
    Travelled
    December 21, 2013
    Posted
    January 05, 2014 at 03:30 PM
  • First Charter

    Experience with them was good overall. Took a lot of back and forth to get the details of the booking correct, make sure you review it very closely. The busses showed up on time day-of the trip.

    Review By
    Company
    Travelled
    12/3/13
    Posted
    December 06, 2013 at 08:46 AM
  • First Student Bus

    The buses showed up on time and the drivers for the 2 buses we requested were both very polite. They seemed a little unsure of where they were going at first, and I don't know whether it was confusion from the way the streets were laid out, but we ended up driving in circles for 5-10 minutes, and the second driver didn't seem to know where she was going at all; there was a brief period where we lost sight of the other bus and our driver seemed very confused. We were still able to make it to our destination on time, and everything else went smoothly. Besides the semi-rocky start, the trip was very good overall.

    Review By
    Sorority
    Travelled
    11/02/13
    Posted
    November 26, 2013 at 01:10 PM
  • Excellent Service

    I used First Student for transportation for a university function, and I received wonderful service! The company worked well to provide me with the purchase price given in the quote. They also worked well in communicating the proper paperwork needed for the function. I would highly recommend using First Student for any reliable and affordable transportation!

    Review By
    Travelled
    October 2013
    Posted
    October 30, 2013 at 03:10 AM
  • Great time with this bus!

    We used First Student charter bus to take us all to a wedding that was an hour out of town. This was the most cost-effective ride - almost $400 less than other options in our city. There were 28 of us and we all fit on the bus perfectly. The driver, Carol, was exceptionally nice and polite. I would definitely recommend this service to anyone who needed reliable transportation to and from an event.

    Review By
    wedding receiption group
    Travelled
    October of 2013
    Posted
    October 16, 2013 at 03:59 PM
  • Great Value

    Although we confirmed a day in advance, the driver was an hour late. We had to make an unexpected stop and she was patient waiting for us. The cost was good and we would use them again.

    Review By
    Church group
    Travelled
    Oct 4
    Posted
    October 11, 2013 at 01:54 PM
  • excellent service

    Everyone I spoke to and met at First Student Bus Rentals was friendly and professional. I was pleased they offered a charity discount and made the rental more affordable. The driver was courteous and proficient.

    Review By
    Society of Saint Vincent de Paul
    Travelled
    September 27, 2013
    Posted
    October 10, 2013 at 04:09 PM
  • Brilliant Service

    First Student Charter did an amazing job with the day trip our fraternity organized. There were around 100 students we needed to shuttle back and forth to an out of town location, and First student not only quoted us significantly lower than other companies, they were extremely flexible and worked hard to give us what we needed from the trip. I would recommend the company whole-heartedly to anyone in similar circumstances, and will be using them again if we ever have the need.

    Review By
    College Fraternity
    Travelled
    September 2013
    Posted
    October 01, 2013 at 10:54 AM
  • Negitive Experience

    Unfortunetly the bus never showed up. Called the "contact number for the night" and got nothing but voicemail and no call back. We were highly disappointed considering we had VIP booth reservations in Detroit that we never made it to. By the time we decided to give up and find other transportation not only did it cost us more money, stress and inconvience but we had to alter our entire night completely. Still have yet to hear back from them so not sure where we go from here but as of now, i will never use this company again and would never refer it to another.

    Review By
    Travelled
    Posted
    September 30, 2013 at 10:05 AM
  • First Student Charter was GREAT!

    We are happy with First Student. Quick response to our request. Very flexible in working with us when my request needed to change at almost the last moment (Galina is great!). Price was reasonable (lower than chartering a city bus). Bus was on time. I'm happy!

    Review By
    Non profit group
    Travelled
    September of 2013
    Posted
    September 25, 2013 at 10:00 AM
  • NOT RECOMMENDED!

    I would not recommend First Student Services. I booked them for my wedding to shuttle guest to hotels after the reception and they never showed up. I spent the last hour of my reception frantically trying to call other shuttle services/cabs/etc. to find a safe ride home for my guests instead of enjoying my wedding reception. If you do book them, call multiple times; especially the day of your event to make sure you will have a driver show up.

    Review By
    Wedding
    Travelled
    August 2013
    Posted
    September 10, 2013 at 03:04 PM
  • Hazzle free

    The whole thing was problem free. We got a reasonable quote within a day, exchanged a couple of emails and finalized details over the phone. Service was prompt and in time, drivers were professional and friendly.

    Review By
    University Conference
    Travelled
    August 2013
    Posted
    August 09, 2013 at 05:24 PM
  • buses never showed

    DO NOT USE! The buses simply didn't show up on the day they were supposed to come. Unbelievable. When I called asking what was up, they said they just didn't have enough buses. They had no explanation as to why they didn't inform me earlier, and the only consolation they gave was a small discount off the next time I use them. Obviously never using them again.

    Review By
    Cornell
    Travelled
    Summer 2013
    Posted
    August 08, 2013 at 10:15 PM
  • Wedding Review

    We used first student for shuttling our wedding through downtow milwaukee and everything about the experience was very positive. The office and administration team was attentive and provided prompt response (even when there was an issue with the credit card used to book the reservation). The bus itself was clean and pristine. The driver was extremely polite and professional and when we asked to make a last minute stop to help someone on the bus, the driver gladly made it with no concerns. Would definitely recommend this bus line to others and will use them in the future.

    Review By
    Travelled
    July 2013
    Posted
    July 30, 2013 at 12:19 PM
  • NO SHOW - NO CALL - STAY AWAY

    Despite calling one week before my event and then again 3 hours before the event to double check and make sure things were confirmed, only one out of two buses I contracted for ever showed up, which was inadequate for 78 teens dressed up in party dresses and heels to attend my daughter's Bat Mitzvah. While stuck waiting for the 2nd bus, several calls were made to multiple numbers provided and nobody picked up. Nobody even called back or responded to voice mails. The driver of the first bus could not reach anyone. We tried and tried and heard from nobody. Eventually, the driver of the first bus contradicted what the sales office had told us about safety limits and capacities and suggested that it was OK and legal to have 78 teenage children pile into a single school bus for the trip and ultimately after all of the chaos created by having one of the two buses just not show up at all, the children were an hour late for what was only a four hour party! Even though the return trip was still now three full hours away, the company never responded to any communications that night to get the missing bus for the return trip either. Sadly, as this was a Bat Mitzvah and not just a casual trip to a casino or something, it was a once in a lifetime event and could not be rescheduled. Further, the cost of the event included thousands spent on "hourly" services such as photographers, dancers, DJ's, novelties, games, etc., all paid for by the hour, which were wasted by the lost time. Days later, the company admitted that several failures occurred. They claimed that an "on call" driver should have been alerted immediately but wasn't for the trip in and again for the trip out. They admitted we were left completely in the cold and had no idea if or when the 2nd bus would ever show up due to the lack of communication. They claimed all was the result of a traffic accident the 2nd driver was involved in, on his way to the depot. When I asked why that driver didn't simply use his cell phone to call the depot and the "on call" driver wasn't immediately dispatched, they admitted they didn't know why that didn't happen and that it clearly should have. When I asked why four hours later another bus wasn't dispatched at least for the return trip home, again, they admitted that it should have, but could provide no explanation other than "there was clearly an operational failure with our procedures". Clearly, this ended up being a disaster, ending with the company offering ZERO to compensate us for their clear failures to deliver what they promised and ruining a once in a lifetime event.

    Review By
    Sad Boston Dad
    Travelled
    June 8th, 2013
    Posted
    July 03, 2013 at 10:53 AM
  • Highly Recommend

    When booking the bus I dealt with a very friendly woman named Cheri, who was very accomodating with our requests. I chartered the bus for my daughter and her friends prom. The bus arrived at the pre-prom picture party early; which was great for decorating the bus. The driver was very friendly and dressed professionaly. The driver allowed the group to play their music and have fun well they were apart of the prom vehicle parade. First Student Charter Bus allowed the kids to decorate the bus with no extra charge for clean-up and their rental rate was cheaper then other companies and who also wanted additional fee's for clean-up. With not having to pay these additional fees we were able to give the driver a nice tip instead. Very good experience. Thank you First Student.

    Review By
    Class of 2013 Graduates
    Travelled
    May 30, 2013
    Posted
    June 18, 2013 at 08:52 AM
  • Request for bus quote

    I was extremely in the prompt, courteous service received when the I submitted my request. Ms. Nancy Herrmann contacted me to clarify information, sent the quote as well as a follow-up. She was truly interested in the experience and attention I received. Excellent customer service.

    Review By
    Delores Haynes
    Travelled
    July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2014
    Posted
    June 13, 2013 at 07:19 PM
  • TERRIBLE: Buses Did Not Show, Was Not Notified

    Terrible experience with this company. Despite having reserved the two buses a month in advance (and confirming with the company a week before) the buses DID NOT SHOW! The worst part -- they (Valerie and Tyrone) did not notify me that they would not be sending buses until five minutes before the buses were supposed to arrive. 96 of us then had to scramble for expensive taxis to take us to our destination and the first day of our trip was ruined. Absolutely unacceptable and unprofessional in every way.

    Review By
    Cornell
    Travelled
    May 2013
    Posted
    June 08, 2013 at 01:45 AM
  • May 15, 2013

    I reserved two buses for an event which consisted of 70 Park University staff members. I couldn't have been more pleased with the courteous service of the two bus drivers. Arville was one driver and did not get the name of the other. Excellent all the way around.

    Review By
    Marcia Naher
    Travelled
    5/15/13
    Posted
    May 30, 2013 at 09:08 AM
  • Great Experience

    I hired First Student to pick up a load of friends in Austin and bring them to my birthday party in San Antonio, then return them the next day. The driver was on time and very cheerful. All of my friends loved the campy experience of getting back on the school bus for the first time in years. Everything turned out great! I highly recommend using First Student Charter -- they provided the best deal for an unusual event!

    Review By
    Kati Hibri
    Travelled
    May 3, and May 4
    Posted
    May 27, 2013 at 04:21 PM
  • Helpful company, questionable drivers

    We used First Student for a company outing. We were on a tight schedule and First Student did a great job working with us to get our reservation together and paid for on time. We scheduled 2 buses, even though it turned out we only needed 1. The office staff with First Student was very helpful when we suggested that we only use one bus for our return trip. They provided a refund for the second bus that we did not need, even though we didn't expect or request one. It was a very nice gesture by them. The drivers were scheduled for us were interesting to say the least. One driver opened his door to chat with a high school student who he did not know on the side of the road. Needless to say, this made the individuals on that bus feel uncomfortable. The other driver raised even more concerns. He drove pretty recklessly, and even blew a red light at one point. I don't think two drivers' actions should reflect First Student as a whole, but it is hard to give a great review when those drivers did leave our group with some concerns.

    Review By
    Company attending volunteer service event
    Travelled
    April 2013
    Posted
    May 09, 2013 at 08:59 AM
  • Unprofessional

    I spent hours planning a one night trip for 75 people only for the bus company to not show up. It appeared there was a miscommunication between headquarters and the local bussing unit. Having to disappoint dozens of people by turning them away for an event they had been looking forward to for weeks was disheartening. Mistakes like these cannot be made in big transportation companies. I will not rely on First Student Charters for my future transportation needs.

    Review By
    Travelled
    Febraury of 2013
    Posted
    April 01, 2013 at 01:41 PM
  • Affordable option with personable company

    I help organize a trip from our college in Baltimore to the DC mall area. The bus was on time, the price we agreed on, clean and the driver friendly. I would call to help get everything planned as email can be slow, but great company to go with! Thanks

    Review By
    College Student Club
    Travelled
    February 2013
    Posted
    March 15, 2013 at 05:09 PM
  • Saint Louis University Global Brigades

    Bus failed to show up until an hour and a half after scheduled time. Had to make multiple phone calls to driver and directors at 5am only to have them show up at 6:30am. The trip was to Lambert Int'l Airport for a group of 30 people flying to Ghana, Africa. This oversight could have seriously affected the outcome of this group's travel and was a very disappointing interaction with First Student.

    Review By
    Saint Louis University's Global Brigades
    Travelled
    Dec 30th 2012
    Posted
    January 16, 2013 at 01:21 PM
  • accepted quote, then denied it months later

    I tried to book two buses to transport my wedding guests from the ceremony to the reception. After 2 months of checking for a confirmation I was emailed to call and give payment info. When I did, I asked to confirm the number of people with them and was informed that the lot rejected my order due to the pick up location. We switched the location and it was another 4 weeks of calling back to find out that they rejected the order once more. So now we're scrambling to find a solution with our wedding swiftly approaching. I strongly suggest going somewhere else if confirmation in a timely fashion is what you need. They seem very disorganized in general.

    Review By
    People Planning a Wedding
    Travelled
    03/22/13
    Posted
    January 10, 2013 at 04:26 PM
  • First Student charter

    Bus arrived early, was clean. Driver was very courteous. We took 33 men to camp with some gear, and the bus was able to handle all the men an gear. It was a school bus, so the knee space was tight for the tall men, nut it was ok. The timeliness was the arrival and departure were the most important drtails to is. First Student came trough.

    Review By
    Chaplain
    Travelled
    Oct 5 2012
    Posted
    October 28, 2012 at 08:42 AM
  • First Student Charter Bus Rental

    My son and I arranged to have First Student transport his New Trier Homecoming group (50 people) on the night of Homecoming. I called the Monday before to confirm the itinerary and to book the rental. I gave my credit card and the woman I spoke to said that the charter was booked. I asked if there was anything else I had to do or look for, and she said that we were all set and that the bus would be at the house at the designated time. The bus never came to pick up the kids. They had to walk to New Trier, and then call parents to transport them to the after party. I called First Student on Monday to ask what on earth happened. At first I was told that the bus was "booked and then unbooked". I didn't quite understand what that meant, so I asked for some follow up information. Later that day I talked to a supervisor who needed to talk to the person who booked my rental. Apparently she was out sick for a few days. I was told that I would receive another follow up call to explain what happened after she spoke to the booking agent. I never received any more communication from First Student Charter Bus Rentals. This was really a terrible experience for my son, who had been in charge of arranging the bus. You can imagine that both parents and fellow students were quite angry at this lack of the rental bus. I feel we did everything necessary to book the bus. I know understand there should have been a route number email sent to us, but that was never mentioned at the time of booking. I feel that I have tried to follow up on what happened, but am still completely dissatisfied. My only recourse is to tell people not to use First Student because they are an unreliable company that does not follow up on grievances. Wendy Shelton

    Review By
    Wendy Shelton (New Trier Parent)
    Travelled
    October 13, 2012
    Posted
    October 27, 2012 at 09:03 AM
  • Great Trip to Burlington

    We had a great ride to Burlington. Richard was our bus driver and was a great sport with our group. He made a couple stops for us and we really appreciate everything he did! No complaints, this was a wonderful experience.

    Review By
    Dude who rented the bus
    Travelled
    October of 2012
    Posted
    October 16, 2012 at 11:31 AM
  • Wedding bus rental

    We rented with First Student Charter Bus Rentals for my wedding last month. Disclaimer: I didn't ride the bus. Disclaimer 2: I kinda wanted to (it was a school bus full of my drunk relatives and friends) I reserved the bus to pick up our guests from one hotel, bring them to the hotel we were having our wedding at, and bring them back at the end of the reception. The bus got everyone to the ceremony on time and showed up early to pick people up at the end of the night. Our guests were having fun so I asked the driver if we could extend by another hour and the company and the driver were completely accommodating. I would like to mention that the driver also seemed very friendly and polite. I heard no complaints from anyone riding the bus and knowing the passengers like I do I can say that if something went wrong I would have heard a complaint. The prices were comparable to the "discounted" prices we were quoted by the hotel. I had a very positive experience with this company and I would recommend them!

    Review By
    the groom
    Travelled
    18 August 2012
    Posted
    September 17, 2012 at 07:21 PM
  • St. Gregory Youth trip

    The driver was early, courteous, and on time and waiting for us.He helped load the bus with supplies. Our contact person, Karen Kramer from First Student was most helpful and even showed us how to save some money on our trip by the way that she scheduled the bus and the driver. The bus was clean and well-maintained. If we have need of bus services again we will remember our good experience. Thank you! Fr. Jim Shaughnessy

    Review By
    Pastor
    Travelled
    Aug. 18, 2012
    Posted
    September 04, 2012 at 10:45 AM
  • Failure to Arrive for Scheduled Trip

    Our Church had been using First Student for about 1 year. They had missed a few pickups of our College students (at Carnegie Mellon and Pitt) due to the Pittsburgh Marathon or bad weather (First Student did not call us to let us know that they were not coming). We then scheduled them for our College Retreat. On the day of the Retreat - they called 2 hours before the pickup time to tell us they had no drivers for trip! This left 85 College students waiting at Carnegie Mellon / Pitt for the Retreat. We scheduled this trip 2 months in advance. First Student had no explanation, no alternative transport and no regard for our situation. We had to call another Bus Company that afternoon to find transportation for our students. Our Students waited hours and the Retreat had to start late. Calling First Student later, we found First Student to be unapologetic and did not care as we stopped doing business with them. I highly discourage use of this company.

    Review By
    Elder Pittsburgh Chinese Church
    Travelled
    January 2011
    Posted
    August 23, 2012 at 11:21 AM
  • Great Job

    Excellent and courteous service. Prompt and great to do business with. Would use them again for sure.

    Review By
    Richard Jack
    Travelled
    6-24-12
    Posted
    July 07, 2012 at 01:20 PM
  • WSU Soccer Camp Rental

    Good service and responded to mistake made by bus company.

    Review By
    Wright State Soccer
    Travelled
    June 2012
    Posted
    June 27, 2012 at 05:39 PM
  • Cherry Hill

    We used First Student and the bus driver was excellent. She arrived earlier than our departure time, got off the bus and greeted our children and was an excellent driver. Never, have we had a bus driver that smiled and was very professional. Kudos to "Suzette" (don't remember her last name) who work at First Student. We will be using this company again and definitely recommend any group to use their services!

    Review By
    Travelled
    Posted
    June 20, 2012 at 06:08 PM
  • Great experience

    Lynda Olson, our contact at First Student, was very responsive, helpful and flexible. She advised us on parking at our destination, alternate routes due to road construction, and the best options for our group in terms of the types of vehicles she could provide. Our driver was professional and friendly, arrived on time for both pick-up and return, got us to our destinations safely, and was flexible in various requests for leaving articles on the bus, etc. Overall a great experience with First Student and would recommend for large group or team activities.

    Review By
    A Tough Mudder Team
    Travelled
    May 19, 2012
    Posted
    June 11, 2012 at 10:22 AM
  • Bus Review for Ball

    Both of the buses were great! They were basically there on time and the bus drivers knew exactly where to go and when to get there. They were great!

    Review By
    Travelled
    Posted
    June 08, 2012 at 07:04 AM