Your Browser is Not Supported

To use BusRates.com, we recommend using the latest version of Chrome, Firefox, or Edge

Universal Bus Charter,Inc

Average Rating 3.5 3.5/5
Washington, District of Columbia 20006
(888) 533-2242
www.universalbuscharter.com
BusRates.com member since 11/15/2012
Universal Bus Charter,Inc
  • Wonderful Experience

    A GIANT THANK YOU TO DEMETRIUS!! He chartered 2 bus loads of Marchers to the Women's March on Washington this weekend. He was wonderful through the entire booking and transporting process. I would highly recommend this company to anyone looking for transportation. I will definitely be call him the next time I need transportation.

    Review By
    Kat G
    Travelled
    01/21/2017
    Posted
    January 23, 2017 at 12:05 PM
  • Excellent Service

    We had a group from UAE visiting Washington for 2 days and we booked charter services with Universal. We got excellent service. They upgraded our bus from a 40 seater to a full size motor coach. The driver, Brian called me in advance and confirmed all the arrangements. They provided water to the group for both days on complimentary basis. In fact there were 2 guests on the group who were celebrating their birthday and we had to arrange for 2 cakes. Brian, the driver was nice enough to organize this for us. Looking forward to doing more groups with Universal Charters!

    Review By
    Tour Operator
    Travelled
    Mar 26 & 27th, 2016
    Posted
    March 29, 2016 at 04:58 PM
  • AVOID!

    AVOID AVOID AVOID! I made the mistake of booking two coach journeys with this company for a school group visit to the US. One a trip from New York to DC, the second an airport transfer to Dulles. AS SOON as they have your money, their customer service vanishes. The coach went to the wrong hotel in New York (despite confirming the correct details twice with them by email) making us 2 hours late. This meant the group missed an important tour. The coach was far smaller than promised (and paid for!) and was missing things like an on-board bathroom and Wi-Fi, which had been agreed and paid for. I could get no response from the company when I tried to contact them regarding this (they still have not replied to numerous emails regarding these problems!) The airport transfer was also two hours late. I had called earlier in the day to confirm the booking (having experienced their incompetence once already!) but could not get a coherent response from their office. Eventually, they found our booking and assured us all was well. We were then left waiting AGAIN as despite their assurances, the bus did not turn up! I was unable to reach ANYONE at the office or by the 'emergency' contact. After TWO HOURS, I was able to get hold of someone. Some time afterwards, a bus arrived - the driver said he had been pulled from his day off - it became clear they had lost our booking. Our hotel said that this was a common experience with this company. The company has ignored my phone calls and emails asking for redress on their total incompetence and the impact it had on our trip, and it is impossible to get a response from them once they have your money. Awful customer service, chaotic management and unreliable service. This is not a company you want to do business with!

    Review By
    School Group
    Travelled
    July 2015
    Posted
    August 03, 2015 at 05:39 AM

    Company Responses:

    Our company response is that the group chose to change their hotel to the Hilton Garden Inn in the Meadowlands near the new Giants Stadium in New Jersey. Outside and nearly 45 minutes to 1 hour and a half travel time, based on the time of day and date. The customer advised our dispatcher at the last minute or not a all. We have no email record of the change in hotel address. This different address added 1 hour and 15 minutes for the company to realize that the address is different. The client originally stated that they will be staying at the Grand Westin in Downtown Manhattan.

    It is also the responsibility to inform the dispatcher of the charter bus company that there is a change in the hotel reservations and the physical address that the tour bus driver will report to.Our company was indeed "LATE" However based on the circumstances. We cannot accept responsibility. It is the customers responsibility to inform our 24 hour dispatch of the change in hotel address, that contributes to a 45 minute travel time.

    Thank you,
    Management
    Field-Operations
    Universal Bus Charter
  • 360 School Trips

    Our company have availed of the Services of Universal Bus Charter for 3 consecutive years. I myself have personally travelled on one of their coaches. They have provided a personal and professional service for all of my groups whilst touring in Washington DC. Franko, the manager will always check to see how the tour is going. The drivers have proven to be friendly, punctual and reliable. Further their knowledge of Washington DC has been impeccable. We recommend this charter coach company immensely and look forward to working with for many years to come

    Review By
    Tour Operator
    Travelled
    many
    Posted
    March 02, 2015 at 07:27 PM
  • Awesome Service

    This past weekend, I chartered a bus with Universal Bus Charter. The Manager, Frankie has been amazing through the whole process. From helping to schedule to having to reschedule due to harsh weather conditions. A day before the event, Frankie called us to warn me that bad weather is coming through. He confirmed that the event is still taking place. The next morning, the bus arrived on time and ready to drive my guys from George Washington University to Charlottesville, VA. Everyone is exceptionally nice and I would definitely do service with them again.

    Review By
    Fraternity
    Travelled
    February 2014
    Posted
    February 24, 2015 at 05:14 PM
  • Disorganized, Unprofessional, Horrible Service. I would not use again!

    I chose Universal Bus Charters to provide two 55 capacity charter buses to take my guests to our wedding rehearsal dinner because it had the best rate of all the companies I contacted. However, their service was terrible once the day arrived. Their dispatch was not coordinated at all with their drivers, and their drivers were inexperienced and unfamiliar with their routes. -Drivers did not call and confirm pick up times and locations or exchange phone numbers with me the day of, as promised at time of final payment. I ha no way to get in touch with the drivers other than dispatch. -First bus was not what we ordered; 38 capacity instead of 55, so when we had 44 guests board 6 had to stand during the drive. Unsafe and uncomfortable and NOT what was contracted. -Second bus arrived 15 min late, which was not communicated to us until I called dispatch 10 min after promised arrival time and was told he was on his way. The driver being late directly resulted in us departing on the cruise 20 min late, which we we're not able to extend or recoup (20 min of a 180 min $18k cruise). -The second bus driver was unfamiliar with the roads of downtown dc and almost did a complete circle around one city block until directed otherwise. His GPS unit was out of date and his route added at least 5 additional minutes of wasted travel time. -Buses were not waiting for pickup at 8:30 as agreed to on the contract, and no attempt was made by either driver to inform us that they were waiting to come pick up until we called. Both drivers promised us that they would be at the pickup location at 8:30. Neither showed up until I called and asked them where they were. -The first bus returned about 10 min after I called, finally arriving around 8:45. He had waited nearby and was responsive about getting to the pick up place once called (although he had not asked us to call him when we were ready for pick up). -The second bus finally returned 25 min after I called, stating that his supervisor told him "the pickup time changed to 9:30". However, this was for the next day's morning pick up, not our service.

    Review By
    Wedding Party
    Travelled
    September 2014
    Posted
    November 28, 2014 at 05:15 PM
  • Excelent choice

    I already know that we will use Universal Bus Charter for our next school field trip!! 23 participants in the International Program from my school traveled from Washington DC to New York and back from NY to Shenandoah Valley, Va, early October 2014. The 24-seat bus provided us a great comfort and the drivers were both careful and fast. I found it very easy to communicate with the business office, they were polite and very patient in dealing with a school district way to pay the bill. Universal Bus Charter had one of the best prices on the market, too! Thank you so much for a great business. D.Sava (SVGS)

    Review By
    Daniela Sava
    Travelled
    October 2014
    Posted
    October 21, 2014 at 01:22 PM
  • Family reunion

    I chartered 3 full size coaches for our family reunion last weekend. Universal Bus Charter services was outstanding. Ray was so professional and gave us the best prices ever and the drivers were really professional and their buses were so beautiful and clean. I would highly recommend them to anyone and everyone.

    Review By
    Family reunion
    Travelled
    9/12/14
    Posted
    September 18, 2014 at 10:41 PM
  • Just about the worst

    After using bus charters in around 30 countries over 25 years, I would have to rate the service from Universal as one of the worst. Luckily it was only a two day charter. After having the specific choice between a 24 seater and a 32 seater, I chose the larger bus for our 20 passengers for some extra room and comfort. On our arrival at BWI airport, there was no bus to be found. So I called the despatcher and got the driver's name and number. The driver said something about being diverted to another job so I called the despatcher again but the excuse was now that he was stuck in traffic. When the bus finally arrived 90 minutes late, it was a 24 passenger bus. And on the way in to DC, there was no evidence of any traffic jams, but they did promise a 32 seat bus the next day. On the following morning, the driver was only marginally late, and with a 32 passenger bus but no room for luggage (which was in the contract) so we only had 24 available seats anyway. After stopping at Lancaster for lunch, we were due to head to Philadelphia on the itinerary. It took a few miles to realise the driver was actually heading back to Washington. On the plus side, the driver on the first day was very helpful when he arrived. My advice: Don't use them.

    Review By
    Study tour group
    Travelled
    July of 2014
    Posted
    July 28, 2014 at 08:20 AM
  • Terrible Experience

    My experience with Universal Bus Charter left a lot to be desired. It began, the bus driver showed up to the pick up location 45 minutes. I called the dispatch several times and recieved false information. I was told that the driver was 5 minutes away, then two minutes, then right around the corner. All of which were untrue. The reason the dispatch gave for the late arrival was because of traffic. Even if that was the case, 45 minutes after the scheduled arrival is too long. Finally, the driver arrives. Making matters worse, the driver was completely unfriendly and had a major attitude, as if we did something to him. No apology was given for the later arrival and furhermore he did not say a word to anyone. We arrived at our destination and as the group got off the bus, the argued with someone he was on the phone with the entire time. As the bus coordinator, I stayed on the bus until the end to ensure the pick up location and time. When trying to confirm these thing, the bus driver srugged his shoulders and closed the door. Terrible Experience! I will not be using Unversal Bus Charter ever again.

    Review By
    Kenney Adams
    Travelled
    6/12/2014
    Posted
    July 11, 2014 at 10:09 AM
  • EXCELLENT SERVICE

    I went to see Moses at the Sight and Sound Theatre on 3/29/14 and the bus service was excellent. The bus was clean and the driver was extremely polite and very nice. I would reccommend this company. Out of 5 I will give it 5 stars.

    Review By
    Sophisticated Travel
    Travelled
    3/29/2014
    Posted
    March 31, 2014 at 09:25 AM
  • International travel association

    I just wanted to share my experience with Universal Bus Charter. Our company contacted them on a last minute, they were so professional, even we had more than 300 people that flew in Feb 11 but every single one of them were picked up with no problems at all. We stayed in DC until 15th and because this was a last minute request so there were so many last minute changes, Ray, Mike and Franco were always there. Thank you so much Ray for being so patience with us. I would highly recommend you guys to everyone.

    Review By
    International travel association
    Travelled
    Feb 11-15, 2014
    Posted
    February 19, 2014 at 02:39 PM
  • DO NOT USE

    The worst experience I have ever had dealing with limo busses. I called the company on numerous occasions making sure everything was set for my bday event. I was assured that everything was fine and that I had nothing to worry about. On the day of the event I called 3 hours before my event just checking in again making sure everything was in tact. Again, I was told I had nothing to worry about. My event time of 10 pm finally arrived and Universal Bus Charter Services did not deliver service and was no where to be found. I called numerous times being brushed off by different people who were not helping the situation. I finally was able to speak with Tanya at 10:45pm of which she stated the driver should arrive at 11:30 again 11:30 arrived and still Universal Bus Charter was no where in sight. I then called Tanya again of which she ignored my calls several times until she decided to call back at 11:45 pm stating that the driver can only offer me service from 12:00 am to 3:00 am because he is tired. Remind you my guests and I have been waiting since 9:50 pm but yet he is tired. 12:00 am came around and yet there was still no driver. I called her continuously from 12:15 am to 12:30 am of course she ignored my calls again. Finally, she called me back at 1:00 am stating the driver had been at my address since 12:00 am. Really Tanya do you think I was born yesterday. There was no driver or no bus. She clearly lied the whole time. Moral of this story is do not waste your time or money. The most unprofessional company I have ever been in contact with.

    Review By
    Kim
    Travelled
    September 21,2013
    Posted
    September 24, 2013 at 07:52 PM
  • Excellent, punctual service

    Very good experience. The driver was early for every event and flexible with the schedule and changes. The bill was as agreed. Highly recommend.

    Review By
    Travelled
    December of 2012
    Posted
    December 20, 2012 at 08:32 AM