View Itinerary (0)

Your Browser is Not Supported

To use BusRates.com, we recommend using the latest version of Chrome, Firefox, or Edge

America Transportation Services Inc.

Average Rating 2.5 2.5/5
Potomac, Maryland 20854
(866) 847-9655
www.americatransportation.com
BusRates.com member since 5/7/2014
America Transportation Services Inc.
  • Unprofessional, rude, stole property

    Within about 10 minutes of the bus pulling away, we realized an expensive camera (in a case with a camcorder) was left on the bus. We immediately contacted the driver who was still in the bus. He claimed to have looked and couldn't find the bus. I asked to look myself and was told a number of reasons why I couldn't look. I contacted the company (after confirming that absolutely no one on the bus had taken the camera off the bus). The bus company blamed me for leaving behind my belongings and stuck to the "contract" that anything left on the bus was not their responsibility. The woman who answered the phone (Sandra) was rude and unprofessional. I contacted Fairfax County police. Officer Ricards filed a report for me. He called her and got the same treatment over the phone. He actually made a point to come back to talk to me about how rude she was to him. We absolutely, positively know that the either the bus driver or the company stole the belongings. In addition, we now know that others things were accidentally left on the bus. There is NO means to collect these items, even though, the trip was on Sunday and the company was immediately notified.

    Review By
    Theatrical Arts Studio
    Travelled
    Nov. 5, 2017
    Posted
    November 08, 2017 at 03:21 PM

    Company Responses:

    You lost your item somewhere because you are an irresponsible adult and now you are blaming the company and driver for your irresponsibility. Do not make fake stories and blame other people for your own mistakes. You were riding in a $600,000 Mercedes bus 2017 and you think the company is going to look for or steal trash that you leave behind. You know very well that we are not responsible for any item left on our buses, and this is very clear in the paperwork that you sign before the trip. You checked the bus multiple times before the driver left, he walked with you through it with flashlight and you gathered all your belongings. There was nothing at all left in the bus. Go check with your friends who were riding with you on the bus. You contacted customer service multiple times, cursing , yelling blaming our staff and driver for your irresponsibility and accusing them of theft. Our staff were very helpful and patient with you to an extent and they checked the bus several times. You are an extremely irresponsible . This review is not going to change who you are.
  • Responsive and Reliable

    American Transportation Services was very responsive to addressing my groups need when planning the trip. The bus showed up on time, was brand new, comfortable, and reliable. Because the bus was new, the driver was not fully familiar with how the luggage compartments opened, did not have all the keys necessary, or how the seats worked. However, all this was worked out and the trips completed successfully, comfortably, and safely.

    Review By
    High school group
    Travelled
    May 2017
    Posted
    May 27, 2017 at 12:11 PM
  • America Bus Company is an unhelpful, crooked company

    I was excited about organizing a bus trip with America Transportation Services Inc. because throughout the process, they were helpful and made things easy for me. However, that all changed when less than two days before my trip, they abruptly cancelled on me with little explanation. At this point, they stopped being helpful and gave me very little information as to why they could not provide a bus for me. They claimed that the bus that was supposed to be used for my trip was going to be in the shop for longer than expected and that they could not accommodate my trip. Instead of working with me to find a solution and help me, they pulled out of our agreement because it was easier for them. One, I think that it is utterly horrible the way that America Transportation Services was not smart enough to have a back up bus in the area in case of situations like this. It speaks to their worthlessness as a company that they can not properly plan for situations in which their fleet is not up to par. Second, they did absolutely to find a way for the trip to go as planned through their services. Sandra on the phone told me that they did have buses throughout the Northeast, and I find it very unlikely that they could not have found a spare coach bus that was not in the DMV area to drive down in the day after their cancellation to still fulfill their duty to me as their customer. Instead of being there for their paying customer, they chose instead to make life easy for them with no regard to how many problems this would cause for me. Third, part of the reason that I chose to book with America Transportation Services Inc. was their competitive pricing. I was booking for a group on a budget and they offered the best deal so of course I gladly booked with them. Thus, when they abruptly cancelled on me, they effectively burdened me with the substantial additional cost that I had to accrue by booking another bus service in an extremely short amount of time. Overall, do not book with America Transportation Services Inc. They will not be there for you as a company should be for a paying customer and when confronted with their own culpability and fraudulence, will hang up the phone and try to avoid owning up to their mistakes. I will be pursuing further legal action in order to do my part to take down a company that will likely cause further harm to other people who want to book a bus in the future.

    Review By
    AEPi Georgetown
    Travelled
    April, 2017
    Posted
    May 01, 2017 at 10:17 AM

    Company Responses:

    Do not make any fake reviews if you never experienced our service. You never paid for any bus or confirmed any trip. You have no reason to write a review.
  • Great Time!

    My self and the 26 additional riders enjoyed our trip very much. The bus was on time for both pick up and drop off and the booking process was easy. I will definitely book through them again. :)

    Review By
    Jasmine Palmer
    Travelled
    September, 2016
    Posted
    October 11, 2016 at 04:06 PM
  • Horrible Service!

    Please do not use this bus service. The driver said one of the passengers on our way to the destination and refused to take us back to our point of origin. There were 30 children and 10 adults. He abandoned us including the children in the middle of DC. The driver threatened us and called us names. This company should not be in service.

    Review By
    Maria Ekpo
    Travelled
    9/3/2016
    Posted
    September 03, 2016 at 05:32 PM

    Company Responses:

    This story is not true as this group was very aggressive with the driver , they were out from their seats all behind the driver cursing , yelling and threatening. They wanted to go to the Capitol and the only location buses can drop off is at the circle and this is the law. That is the reason they started to fight and curse the driver as they refused to walk. They forced the driver to suspend the service and call the police .
  • This experience had the potential to be great....

    I am a school teacher in Washington, D.C. and I reached out to this company for an end of the year field trip with my students. We had received funding for the trip via a grant and I wanted to provide a great experience for the kids. When I contacted the company, there was a lady who answered the phone. Her name was Sandra. I explained to her the situation and she readily was able to send me an invoice. There was an email exchange in which I informed Sandra to let me know if the company didn't remit payment. She never informed me of this so we were under the impression that we were going on a field trip on the day that we agreed. Imagine my surprise when I reached out Sandra on the day of the field trip and she told me that the bus would not be coming. She further indicated that she never received my email and assumed that we were not interested. Thank goodness I was able to book with another company and was able to use them twice before the school year was over. Our trip ended up being salvaged but it would have been great to have been able to utilize this service. Based on the communication exchange, I will not be able to recommend this company to my colleagues.

    Review By
    Special Education Department
    Travelled
    June 5, 2016
    Posted
    June 24, 2016 at 09:22 AM

    Company Responses:

    Sorry to hear that , but the company policy is very clear and outlined in our agreement . When a client books a vehicle and does not remit payment or answer email communications , we will assume that they are not interested and will cancel the booking. There is no reason for this review as this customer did not experience our service.
  • Worst experience in 20 years

    After arranging trips for 20 years, we had a horrible bus experience. I accept some fault for this as I made the mistake of asking for a bus instead of a coach. I did ask for several days, and expected a bus that would hold luggage. I was told to arrange lodging for the bus driver. I was told the bus would be 2012 or newer. The first bus that showed up was a white "school bus" with better seats. It was not the bus I had contracted. It was beat up and had several broken seats. The driver did not say anything. He took us to our first stop, and was given instructions as to when to pick us up. He was late, and we called. He was not parked anywhere close and picked us up at least 50 minutes late. Everything we left on the bus had been moved to other seats. Our guess is that he had other people on the bus although we had contracted for the day. The second bus that showed up was newer and had no broken seats, but no room for luggage. The luggage was stacked on the bus blocking the emergency exit and leaving no extra seats. I had booked and paid for a room for the driver, but he did not stay. I was out that money! I do not want to blame this bus driver for working for a bad company, but I do not think he always understood us. I do think that he was trying very hard. He did not help load the luggage. We had to hand it to him on the bus. I wish I would have known this before so that we could have hired someone to do this as it was impossible for our customers to lift the luggage that high. He did accommodate us on a couple of requests which we appreciated very much. Again, it was not his fault that the company was not good. It would have been very nice to have known the situation before we started this trip. I would not recommend this company or ever use them again. Their definition of deluxe did not fit mine, or anyone else on the bus!

    Review By
    Garden Travelers
    Travelled
    April 2016
    Posted
    May 02, 2016 at 09:37 PM

    Company Responses:

    Sorry that you feel this way, you contracted a mini bus for your group and not a coach. You will get what you paid for. Our drivers are always punctual, professional , courteous and accommodating. Our vehicles are newer models all 2013 and up. All our buses are luxury and have all the amenities ; TV, DVD , restroom, luggage compartment , seat belts , outlets, etc..The company did not do anything wrong , please do not blame the company for your mistakes. You know what you booked and you mentioned it clearly in your review.
  • SSR Group

    On March 31st we had 4 buses pick 200 of us up from our Washington DC Hotel and take us to the sites. We had the best 4 drivers ever. So helpful as we didn't know what to see first and how long it would take us to see each site. We could not have asked for better drivers. Not mention it was so reasonably priced. If we take this trip again we will be calling this company once again for our tour needs. Thank you so much for providing a service with such wonderful employees as the lady that schedule the tour was just as pleasant as can be. Fantastic Washington DC trip for all of us.

    Review By
    Shingle Springs Band of Miwok Indians
    Travelled
    March 31, 2015
    Posted
    April 09, 2015 at 10:05 AM
  • Great Experience

    I have never rented a bus before and was nervous they would not be there when we needed them. The bus showed up absolutely on time, the driver was professional and wonderful and everything went incredibly smoothly on a stressful day. They did a great job!

    Review By
    Bar Mitzvah party
    Travelled
    November 2015
    Posted
    November 04, 2014 at 08:44 AM