BusRates.com

Proud Partners Of:
 
 


 
 

Search by Bus Type

 
 
 

Or Search by Zip Code:

 

 
















Reviews and Ratings

 

Save Money
Save Time...Go Direct!

BusRates.com is a free directory of travel & tourism companies for direct contact. Learn more

Customer Reviews and Ratings for
First Student Charter Bus Rentals


Buffalo, New York 14216
http://www.firstcharterbus.com/
(800) 844-5588

Average Rating: 3.5/5
 

School Event

Rating:

 

Recently used this service to take a bunch of classmates to a baseball game. Getting the reservation wasn't too difficult and the trip went smoothly. Until I received a 50$ surcharge for some random "Waiting Fee". A week later they refunded me the money. However now 3 months later I get a bill in the mail for 50$ that is now going to collections and an increasing number of phone calls. They seem to care a whole awful lot about their 50$. Logistical nightmares make this company a last resort.

Reviewed By: Wes
Travel Date: July 2014
Published on November 10, 2014 at 09:30 AM

Excellent Service

Rating:

 

I used First Student Charter Bus Rentals for an youth outing that I ran through my work. Getting the rental was easy and didn't have a lot of hassle. I should have gotten a smaller bus due to the number of people that attended, but the bus driver was fantastic, patient and understanding. He did his best to accomedate all of our needs, including making a few stops to drop some youth off. Overall, the experience with administration and with the trip was great.

Reviewed By: Metis Nation of Ontario
Travel Date: October 17 2014
Published on November 06, 2014 at 08:30 AM

Great field trip on Saturday November 1

Rating:

 

We are happy to report our field trip involving two schools was a big success. Our bus driver was awesome. Our booking was easy with Virtue! Would highly recommend First Student.

Reviewed By: MIranda Kamal, Boxing Club
Travel Date: November 01, 2014
Published on November 05, 2014 at 09:02 AM

Great wedding transportation!

Rating:

 

We hired a bus to transport our wedding guests from the hotel to the church and to the reception. For the price, it's an amazing deal for 3 hours and transporting 40 people! Heard bus driver got a little lost, but that's the only complaint we received.

Reviewed By: Bride
Travel Date: 10-12-14
Published on October 22, 2014 at 10:36 AM

Bus Used for Wedding Transport

Rating:

 

A First Student Charter Bus was intended to deliver our guests from their hotels to our wedding reception. We reserved one bus and planned for the bus to stop at two hotels on its way to the reception and to make two rounds in this manner to accommodate our guests. On the first trip, the bus only made a stop at the first hotel and did not stop at the second hotel. During this time, I tried to call the ‘day-of event’ contact numbers repeatedly to understand why the second stop was not made. My guests at the second hotel were stranded waiting for the bus. My phone calls were not answered and I received no response to the messages I left. Even still, 3 weeks later I still have not received a return call. As it turns out, the bus was full and could not feasibly make the second stop. While I understand this, the upsetting part is that I could not contact anyone during my event to have this situation explained or justified. The bus driver was pleasant and did his job as intended, my dissatisfaction is with the fact that I could not reach any company representatives when it counted most (nor have I heard from anyone since). I would not recommend this company.

Reviewed By: Kerri Nelson
Travel Date: 9/20/2014
Published on October 08, 2014 at 03:07 PM

Great for a Tour

Rating:

 

First Student customer service was very helpful. They arranged the trip quickly and for a good price. The driver was courteous. I would use them again! The only suggestion is that if you are booking a bus for a specific route, it might be helpful to have someone direct the driver along the route while someone else is talking. The driver is only provided with your printed directions and he/she may be unfamiliar with the route.

Reviewed By: Watershed Tour Event
Travel Date: August 23, 2014
Published on September 03, 2014 at 08:57 AM

Bus Rental Experience

Rating:

 

This was my first time using your bus service and it was pleasant experience. The drivers was nice and made us feel comfortable and safe the entire ride. Thanks!

Reviewed By: Office Event
Travel Date: August 20th
Published on August 21, 2014 at 02:19 PM

Awesome Experience

Rating:

 

We chartered a bus for our department team building event. The service was awesome, arrived on time for departure and return trip, driver was friendly and courteous, and planned the best route for door to door delivery. Picked us up right outside our door and dropped us off at the door where we were going (Brit's Pub). When our event was over - the bus was right outside our door to pick us up and bring up back to work. Very happy with the level of service provided for all aspects of our round trip. And the price charged was less than all the other companies we had gotten quotes from!

Reviewed By: Department Admin
Travel Date: June 18, 2014
Published on July 23, 2014 at 10:40 AM

Bus did not show up for wedding

Rating:

 

I booked a bus for my wedding to shuttle guests back and forth from the hotel to the reception. I booked several months in advance and called to confirm prior to the day. The bus never showed up. When I called the "day of" numbers they provided me at time of booking, no one picked up the phone. They charged my credit card a few days prior to the event. After no luck getting in touch with someone the day of the event, I had to call them the next day to get a refund and an explanation. The explanation was "there was a mix up" and they were not apologetic. I wasted my cocktail hour trying to track the bus down and get my guest to the wedding. That is time at my own wedding I will never get back. I have never been so frustrated and disappointed in a service as I was with First Student.

Reviewed By: Amy
Travel Date: June 2014
Published on July 12, 2014 at 09:19 PM

Awesome!

Rating:

 

We traveled to Kershaw Park in Canandaigua and to Darien Lake with Tonisha Davis, she was a fabulous driver! We felt safe with her. She took the route in which I wanted her to travel. She was prompt arriving in the morning and when we were ready for pick up. She was very personable. This was my first time with this bus company and although I think your rates are hiring than Monroe, I would return because of this driver!

Reviewed By: Vicki B
Travel Date: July,3,10, 2014
Published on July 11, 2014 at 03:58 AM

Would Not Recommend - Bus never showed up!

Rating:

 

I reserved a bus in May to transport 26 people, including myself, to First Niagra Pavilion for a concert in June. I called one hour and 15 minutes before the bus was scheduled to arrive. The woman I spoke with confirmed that the payment was received, gave me the pick up address and time and number of people and said everything looked good. Come 6PM (scheduled pick up time) the bus still hadn't arrived. I gave it some time, thinking rush hour traffic had caused the delay. I called the number listed on the confirmation page and the woman I spoke with was no help. She said she didn't have a bus scheduled for me, although I had just confirmed less than 2 hours prior. She eventually hung up on me and quit answering the phone. All of the concert-goers had to scramble and pack into cars to make it to the concert. I emailed First Student the Sunday after the concert with names of the people I spoke with, a copy of my confirmation, a copy of my bank statement showing the trip was paid for, names of the people I spoke with along with the times, dates, and lengths of the calls. I called Monday morning and they had already forwarded the email to the complaint department and management. I received my refund within 24 hours. Although I did appreciate their prompt action in the matter, I did not receive a call from management to apologize for the inconvenience. All I received was a "Do Not Reply" email from the billing department showing my refund had been approved. I wish someone would have contacted me personally, but it's safe to say that I would not recommend anyone to use this company. By the looks of the other reviews, it seems that First Charter often strands its paying customers, and do not issue an apology.

Reviewed By: Jamie
Travel Date: June 27, 2014
Published on July 01, 2014 at 10:42 AM

Music Week Buses

Rating:

 

We had 3 short trips on 3 different days scheduled for approximately 35 kids. The buses arrived on time and the drivers were friendly. The booking staff were very helpful and very kind. We would definitely use them again. I really liked the way they sent an e-mail confirmation 2 days before each trip so that we were assured that everything was going according to plans.

Reviewed By: Christ Lutheran Music Week Staff
Travel Date: 06/23,6/25,6/26
Published on June 27, 2014 at 10:53 AM

50th for my husband

Rating:

 

The experience we had was great. The only glitch was that the driver was just over 10 min late. But he was quick to apologize and get us on our way. He was pleasant and professional. Bus was clean. I would use First Student again. Thank you Sylvie Foulds

Reviewed By: SylvieFoulds
Travel Date: June 21st 2014
Published on June 26, 2014 at 05:26 PM

Don't Even Think About It

Rating:

 

First of all its costumer service is dreadful. They raise prices over 20% every year to see how much they can get out of you. Every time I have reserved busses they have put me on hold most of the call. It took them 3 times to get a quote and the trip plan correct, and they frequently switched destinations. I literally had to walk them through every mistake they made every time and they did not fix the problem. Secondly they inappropriately charged us a $1,000 damage fee, which they did not have evidence to prove and was hell to fight. We are considering perusing legal action over inappropriate comments made by one of First Student's drivers, and the refusal to let students off the bus to go to the bathroom, stopping on the side of the road to smoke multiple times, and lying that a rest stop was closed to save time. In addition the bus drivers stopped on the side of the freeway to let students out to have lunch, putting their lives in danger. At other times, specifically on a trip to Stevens pass, their busses have shown up hours late in freezing temperatures, leaving students at risk of hypothermia and frost bite. We will never use this company again, and are disappointed with every step of its service. Use a different company, even if it seems to be more expensive. It will be well worth your while.

Reviewed By: Garfield Outdoor Education
Travel Date: May 2014
Published on June 15, 2014 at 03:44 PM

Wedding transportation

Rating:

 

Everything was great and the bus driver was very friendly. I would use our charter again and would refer them to anyone I know that is in need of similar transportation.

Reviewed By: John Mielke - Groom
Travel Date: 05/24/14
Published on May 29, 2014 at 07:36 PM

No show, almost missed flight

Rating:

 

We booked First Student to provided transportation to/from Airport for group of 43 people. We had pre-paid and received a confirming contract. We had emailed to confirm we had our arrangements correct and thought everything should be ready to go. Our group was made up of 25 people supported by our agency and their support professionals, taking the group on a dream vacation to Hawaii. First Student's bus never showed up and the emergency number I was given was only an office message machine. It was a very stressful start to our vacation to come up with a last minute plan to get 43 people to the airport 75 miles away. We also had difficulties on return due to our last minute changes. First Student says they will refund our payment, but the stress they have added to our vacation has not been addressed. In the past we have used Mid-Columbia, we have always been very pleased with their services and would highly recommend you avoid our mistake, book with Mid-Columbia.

Reviewed By: Non-Profit provider of supports to people with dis
Travel Date: April 2014
Published on May 02, 2014 at 02:32 PM

Bus never showed & getting a refund was difficult

Rating:

 

I paid for, and confirmed a bus through First Student for a Saturday event. When I didn't see a bus 15 minutes past my scheduled pickup time I contacted the "day of event" phone number provided, which goes to an after-hours answering service. The answering service does not have anything to do with reservations. All they are able to do is hang up and then pass on the message. Despite my multiple calls to the answering service (speaking with a different person each and every time), and providing 3 different phone numbers where I could be reached for a status update, it took a First Student rep over an hour to contact me, only to tell me that my trip was not on the schedule for the day. Though she did offer to send someone in 30 minutes, my group could not wait any longer and had to arrange for alternate transportation. On Monday morning, I contacted the main office and was told that my complaint would have to be investigated before a refund could be issued and that someone would contact me within 24-48 hours. When I hadn't heard from anyone by Thursday morning (now 72 hours later) I called again and a rep told me my complaint had been escalated to 3 higher managers and that he would try his best to get someone to contact me back the same day. After not receiving a call back, the following day I contacted the branch and learned that the branch manager had verified that I wasn't provided a bus and I was entitled to a refund 2 days earlier. I contacted the main office again and asked that someone contact me back and let me know when I would be receiving my refund. A short time later I received a "do not reply" email confirming my refund was processed. However, First Student did not have the courtesy of contacting me directly to let me know the refund had been processed or apologize otherwise. Although everyone I spoke to was pleasant, I felt like I had to hound and nag in order for my refund to be processed after they failed to satisfy my transportation needs. Furthermore, the fact that my complaint was escalated to 3 people in upper management and still not handled in a timely manner makes me question the competency of the company.

Reviewed By: FSW, Inc.
Travel Date: April 12, 2014
Published on April 18, 2014 at 01:17 PM

First Student school bus rental

Rating:

 

We used the bus to take our group to a camp retreat. The bus driver took the longest route to get us there so we were over an hour late. The driver was a very nice man, though. We weren't impressed when our bus didn't pick us up on time for the return home. The driver was 1.5 hours late because she got lost on the way there. I feel it's the driver's one primary responsibility to know where they are going before they come get us. I was not impressed with this. Will likely choose a different company for the next trip.

Reviewed By: Group leader
Travel Date: March 2014
Published on April 03, 2014 at 11:02 AM

Best Charter Bus Company!

Rating:

 

Used First Student for a personal group event. They were excellent! We had two pickup locations and they didn't hesitate to accommodate us. The driver was on time, pleasant and an excellent, careful driver. We have another group event in May and I will use First Student again.

Reviewed By: The Loop Group
Travel Date: March 29, 2014
Published on April 01, 2014 at 12:45 PM

First Student Charter Dec 29/13

Rating:

 

Great experience...easy booking, bus was there waiting 15 mins ahead of schedule. Driver was knowledgeable and courteous. Trip overall was A1.

Reviewed By: Burlington Eagles Hockey
Travel Date: December 2013
Published on January 25, 2014 at 12:23 PM

Bar Mitzvah Transport

Rating:

 

We were very pleased with our service. We hired 2 buses to transport 80 7th graders from the Temple to the hotel. Both buses were on time and it made the day very easy. Thank you

Reviewed By: Parent
Travel Date: 1/4/14
Published on January 08, 2014 at 08:22 AM

Great experience

Rating:

 

Correspondence was great, driver was very polite and very accommodating.

Reviewed By: Family Christmas light tour
Travel Date: December 21, 2013
Published on January 05, 2014 at 03:30 PM

First Charter

Rating:

 

Experience with them was good overall. Took a lot of back and forth to get the details of the booking correct, make sure you review it very closely. The busses showed up on time day-of the trip.

Reviewed By: Company
Travel Date: 12/3/13
Published on December 06, 2013 at 08:46 AM

First Student Bus

Rating:

 

The buses showed up on time and the drivers for the 2 buses we requested were both very polite. They seemed a little unsure of where they were going at first, and I don't know whether it was confusion from the way the streets were laid out, but we ended up driving in circles for 5-10 minutes, and the second driver didn't seem to know where she was going at all; there was a brief period where we lost sight of the other bus and our driver seemed very confused. We were still able to make it to our destination on time, and everything else went smoothly. Besides the semi-rocky start, the trip was very good overall.

Reviewed By: Sorority
Travel Date: 11/02/13
Published on November 26, 2013 at 01:10 PM

Excellent Service

Rating:

 

I used First Student for transportation for a university function, and I received wonderful service! The company worked well to provide me with the purchase price given in the quote. They also worked well in communicating the proper paperwork needed for the function. I would highly recommend using First Student for any reliable and affordable transportation!

Reviewed By:
Travel Date: October 2013
Published on October 30, 2013 at 03:10 AM

Great time with this bus!

Rating:

 

We used First Student charter bus to take us all to a wedding that was an hour out of town. This was the most cost-effective ride - almost $400 less than other options in our city. There were 28 of us and we all fit on the bus perfectly. The driver, Carol, was exceptionally nice and polite. I would definitely recommend this service to anyone who needed reliable transportation to and from an event.

Reviewed By: wedding receiption group
Travel Date: October of 2013
Published on October 16, 2013 at 03:59 PM

Great Value

Rating:

 

Although we confirmed a day in advance, the driver was an hour late. We had to make an unexpected stop and she was patient waiting for us. The cost was good and we would use them again.

Reviewed By: Church group
Travel Date: Oct 4
Published on October 11, 2013 at 01:54 PM

excellent service

Rating:

 

Everyone I spoke to and met at First Student Bus Rentals was friendly and professional. I was pleased they offered a charity discount and made the rental more affordable. The driver was courteous and proficient.

Reviewed By: Society of Saint Vincent de Paul
Travel Date: September 27, 2013
Published on October 10, 2013 at 04:09 PM

Brilliant Service

Rating:

 

First Student Charter did an amazing job with the day trip our fraternity organized. There were around 100 students we needed to shuttle back and forth to an out of town location, and First student not only quoted us significantly lower than other companies, they were extremely flexible and worked hard to give us what we needed from the trip. I would recommend the company whole-heartedly to anyone in similar circumstances, and will be using them again if we ever have the need.

Reviewed By: College Fraternity
Travel Date: September 2013
Published on October 01, 2013 at 10:54 AM

Negitive Experience

Rating:

 

Unfortunetly the bus never showed up. Called the "contact number for the night" and got nothing but voicemail and no call back. We were highly disappointed considering we had VIP booth reservations in Detroit that we never made it to. By the time we decided to give up and find other transportation not only did it cost us more money, stress and inconvience but we had to alter our entire night completely. Still have yet to hear back from them so not sure where we go from here but as of now, i will never use this company again and would never refer it to another.

Reviewed By:
Travel Date:
Published on September 30, 2013 at 10:05 AM

First Student Charter was GREAT!

Rating:

 

We are happy with First Student. Quick response to our request. Very flexible in working with us when my request needed to change at almost the last moment (Galina is great!). Price was reasonable (lower than chartering a city bus). Bus was on time. I'm happy!

Reviewed By: Non profit group
Travel Date: September of 2013
Published on September 25, 2013 at 10:00 AM

NOT RECOMMENDED!

Rating:

 

I would not recommend First Student Services. I booked them for my wedding to shuttle guest to hotels after the reception and they never showed up. I spent the last hour of my reception frantically trying to call other shuttle services/cabs/etc. to find a safe ride home for my guests instead of enjoying my wedding reception. If you do book them, call multiple times; especially the day of your event to make sure you will have a driver show up.

Reviewed By: Wedding
Travel Date: August 2013
Published on September 10, 2013 at 03:04 PM

Hazzle free

Rating:

 

The whole thing was problem free. We got a reasonable quote within a day, exchanged a couple of emails and finalized details over the phone. Service was prompt and in time, drivers were professional and friendly.

Reviewed By: University Conference
Travel Date: August 2013
Published on August 09, 2013 at 05:24 PM

buses never showed

Rating:

 

DO NOT USE! The buses simply didn't show up on the day they were supposed to come. Unbelievable. When I called asking what was up, they said they just didn't have enough buses. They had no explanation as to why they didn't inform me earlier, and the only consolation they gave was a small discount off the next time I use them. Obviously never using them again.

Reviewed By: Cornell
Travel Date: Summer 2013
Published on August 08, 2013 at 10:15 PM

Wedding Review

Rating:

 

We used first student for shuttling our wedding through downtow milwaukee and everything about the experience was very positive. The office and administration team was attentive and provided prompt response (even when there was an issue with the credit card used to book the reservation). The bus itself was clean and pristine. The driver was extremely polite and professional and when we asked to make a last minute stop to help someone on the bus, the driver gladly made it with no concerns. Would definitely recommend this bus line to others and will use them in the future.

Reviewed By:
Travel Date: July 2013
Published on July 30, 2013 at 12:19 PM

NO SHOW - NO CALL - STAY AWAY

Rating:

 

Despite calling one week before my event and then again 3 hours before the event to double check and make sure things were confirmed, only one out of two buses I contracted for ever showed up, which was inadequate for 78 teens dressed up in party dresses and heels to attend my daughter's Bat Mitzvah. While stuck waiting for the 2nd bus, several calls were made to multiple numbers provided and nobody picked up. Nobody even called back or responded to voice mails. The driver of the first bus could not reach anyone. We tried and tried and heard from nobody. Eventually, the driver of the first bus contradicted what the sales office had told us about safety limits and capacities and suggested that it was OK and legal to have 78 teenage children pile into a single school bus for the trip and ultimately after all of the chaos created by having one of the two buses just not show up at all, the children were an hour late for what was only a four hour party! Even though the return trip was still now three full hours away, the company never responded to any communications that night to get the missing bus for the return trip either. Sadly, as this was a Bat Mitzvah and not just a casual trip to a casino or something, it was a once in a lifetime event and could not be rescheduled. Further, the cost of the event included thousands spent on "hourly" services such as photographers, dancers, DJ's, novelties, games, etc., all paid for by the hour, which were wasted by the lost time. Days later, the company admitted that several failures occurred. They claimed that an "on call" driver should have been alerted immediately but wasn't for the trip in and again for the trip out. They admitted we were left completely in the cold and had no idea if or when the 2nd bus would ever show up due to the lack of communication. They claimed all was the result of a traffic accident the 2nd driver was involved in, on his way to the depot. When I asked why that driver didn't simply use his cell phone to call the depot and the "on call" driver wasn't immediately dispatched, they admitted they didn't know why that didn't happen and that it clearly should have. When I asked why four hours later another bus wasn't dispatched at least for the return trip home, again, they admitted that it should have, but could provide no explanation other than "there was clearly an operational failure with our procedures". Clearly, this ended up being a disaster, ending with the company offering ZERO to compensate us for their clear failures to deliver what they promised and ruining a once in a lifetime event.

Reviewed By: Sad Boston Dad
Travel Date: June 8th, 2013
Published on July 03, 2013 at 10:53 AM

Highly Recommend

Rating:

 

When booking the bus I dealt with a very friendly woman named Cheri, who was very accomodating with our requests. I chartered the bus for my daughter and her friends prom. The bus arrived at the pre-prom picture party early; which was great for decorating the bus. The driver was very friendly and dressed professionaly. The driver allowed the group to play their music and have fun well they were apart of the prom vehicle parade. First Student Charter Bus allowed the kids to decorate the bus with no extra charge for clean-up and their rental rate was cheaper then other companies and who also wanted additional fee's for clean-up. With not having to pay these additional fees we were able to give the driver a nice tip instead. Very good experience. Thank you First Student.

Reviewed By: Class of 2013 Graduates
Travel Date: May 30, 2013
Published on June 18, 2013 at 08:52 AM

Request for bus quote

Rating:

 

I was extremely in the prompt, courteous service received when the I submitted my request. Ms. Nancy Herrmann contacted me to clarify information, sent the quote as well as a follow-up. She was truly interested in the experience and attention I received. Excellent customer service.

Reviewed By: Delores Haynes
Travel Date: July 1, 2013 - June 30, 2014
Published on June 13, 2013 at 07:19 PM

TERRIBLE: Buses Did Not Show, Was Not Notified

Rating:

 

Terrible experience with this company. Despite having reserved the two buses a month in advance (and confirming with the company a week before) the buses DID NOT SHOW! The worst part -- they (Valerie and Tyrone) did not notify me that they would not be sending buses until five minutes before the buses were supposed to arrive. 96 of us then had to scramble for expensive taxis to take us to our destination and the first day of our trip was ruined. Absolutely unacceptable and unprofessional in every way.

Reviewed By: Cornell
Travel Date: May 2013
Published on June 08, 2013 at 01:45 AM

May 15, 2013

Rating:

 

I reserved two buses for an event which consisted of 70 Park University staff members. I couldn't have been more pleased with the courteous service of the two bus drivers. Arville was one driver and did not get the name of the other. Excellent all the way around.

Reviewed By: Marcia Naher
Travel Date: 5/15/13
Published on May 30, 2013 at 09:08 AM

Great Experience

Rating:

 

I hired First Student to pick up a load of friends in Austin and bring them to my birthday party in San Antonio, then return them the next day. The driver was on time and very cheerful. All of my friends loved the campy experience of getting back on the school bus for the first time in years. Everything turned out great! I highly recommend using First Student Charter -- they provided the best deal for an unusual event!

Reviewed By: Kati Hibri
Travel Date: May 3, and May 4
Published on May 27, 2013 at 04:21 PM

Helpful company, questionable drivers

Rating:

 

We used First Student for a company outing. We were on a tight schedule and First Student did a great job working with us to get our reservation together and paid for on time. We scheduled 2 buses, even though it turned out we only needed 1. The office staff with First Student was very helpful when we suggested that we only use one bus for our return trip. They provided a refund for the second bus that we did not need, even though we didn't expect or request one. It was a very nice gesture by them. The drivers were scheduled for us were interesting to say the least. One driver opened his door to chat with a high school student who he did not know on the side of the road. Needless to say, this made the individuals on that bus feel uncomfortable. The other driver raised even more concerns. He drove pretty recklessly, and even blew a red light at one point. I don't think two drivers' actions should reflect First Student as a whole, but it is hard to give a great review when those drivers did leave our group with some concerns.

Reviewed By: Company attending volunteer service event
Travel Date: April 2013
Published on May 09, 2013 at 08:59 AM

Unprofessional

Rating:

 

I spent hours planning a one night trip for 75 people only for the bus company to not show up. It appeared there was a miscommunication between headquarters and the local bussing unit. Having to disappoint dozens of people by turning them away for an event they had been looking forward to for weeks was disheartening. Mistakes like these cannot be made in big transportation companies. I will not rely on First Student Charters for my future transportation needs.

Reviewed By:
Travel Date: Febraury of 2013
Published on April 01, 2013 at 01:41 PM

Affordable option with personable company

Rating:

 

I help organize a trip from our college in Baltimore to the DC mall area. The bus was on time, the price we agreed on, clean and the driver friendly. I would call to help get everything planned as email can be slow, but great company to go with! Thanks

Reviewed By: College Student Club
Travel Date: February 2013
Published on March 15, 2013 at 05:09 PM

Saint Louis University Global Brigades

Rating:

 

Bus failed to show up until an hour and a half after scheduled time. Had to make multiple phone calls to driver and directors at 5am only to have them show up at 6:30am. The trip was to Lambert Int'l Airport for a group of 30 people flying to Ghana, Africa. This oversight could have seriously affected the outcome of this group's travel and was a very disappointing interaction with First Student.

Reviewed By: Saint Louis University's Global Brigades
Travel Date: Dec 30th 2012
Published on January 16, 2013 at 01:21 PM

accepted quote, then denied it months later

Rating:

 

I tried to book two buses to transport my wedding guests from the ceremony to the reception. After 2 months of checking for a confirmation I was emailed to call and give payment info. When I did, I asked to confirm the number of people with them and was informed that the lot rejected my order due to the pick up location. We switched the location and it was another 4 weeks of calling back to find out that they rejected the order once more. So now we're scrambling to find a solution with our wedding swiftly approaching. I strongly suggest going somewhere else if confirmation in a timely fashion is what you need. They seem very disorganized in general.

Reviewed By: People Planning a Wedding
Travel Date: 03/22/13
Published on January 10, 2013 at 04:26 PM

First Student charter

Rating:

 

Bus arrived early, was clean. Driver was very courteous. We took 33 men to camp with some gear, and the bus was able to handle all the men an gear. It was a school bus, so the knee space was tight for the tall men, nut it was ok. The timeliness was the arrival and departure were the most important drtails to is. First Student came trough.

Reviewed By: Chaplain
Travel Date: Oct 5 2012
Published on October 28, 2012 at 08:42 AM

First Student Charter Bus Rental

Rating:

 

My son and I arranged to have First Student transport his New Trier Homecoming group (50 people) on the night of Homecoming. I called the Monday before to confirm the itinerary and to book the rental. I gave my credit card and the woman I spoke to said that the charter was booked. I asked if there was anything else I had to do or look for, and she said that we were all set and that the bus would be at the house at the designated time. The bus never came to pick up the kids. They had to walk to New Trier, and then call parents to transport them to the after party. I called First Student on Monday to ask what on earth happened. At first I was told that the bus was "booked and then unbooked". I didn't quite understand what that meant, so I asked for some follow up information. Later that day I talked to a supervisor who needed to talk to the person who booked my rental. Apparently she was out sick for a few days. I was told that I would receive another follow up call to explain what happened after she spoke to the booking agent. I never received any more communication from First Student Charter Bus Rentals. This was really a terrible experience for my son, who had been in charge of arranging the bus. You can imagine that both parents and fellow students were quite angry at this lack of the rental bus. I feel we did everything necessary to book the bus. I know understand there should have been a route number email sent to us, but that was never mentioned at the time of booking. I feel that I have tried to follow up on what happened, but am still completely dissatisfied. My only recourse is to tell people not to use First Student because they are an unreliable company that does not follow up on grievances. Wendy Shelton

Reviewed By: Wendy Shelton (New Trier Parent)
Travel Date: October 13, 2012
Published on October 27, 2012 at 09:03 AM

Great Trip to Burlington

Rating:

 

We had a great ride to Burlington. Richard was our bus driver and was a great sport with our group. He made a couple stops for us and we really appreciate everything he did! No complaints, this was a wonderful experience.

Reviewed By: Dude who rented the bus
Travel Date: October of 2012
Published on October 16, 2012 at 11:31 AM

Wedding bus rental

Rating:

 

We rented with First Student Charter Bus Rentals for my wedding last month. Disclaimer: I didn't ride the bus. Disclaimer 2: I kinda wanted to (it was a school bus full of my drunk relatives and friends) I reserved the bus to pick up our guests from one hotel, bring them to the hotel we were having our wedding at, and bring them back at the end of the reception. The bus got everyone to the ceremony on time and showed up early to pick people up at the end of the night. Our guests were having fun so I asked the driver if we could extend by another hour and the company and the driver were completely accommodating. I would like to mention that the driver also seemed very friendly and polite. I heard no complaints from anyone riding the bus and knowing the passengers like I do I can say that if something went wrong I would have heard a complaint. The prices were comparable to the "discounted" prices we were quoted by the hotel. I had a very positive experience with this company and I would recommend them!

Reviewed By: the groom
Travel Date: 18 August 2012
Published on September 17, 2012 at 07:21 PM

St. Gregory Youth trip

Rating:

 

The driver was early, courteous, and on time and waiting for us.He helped load the bus with supplies. Our contact person, Karen Kramer from First Student was most helpful and even showed us how to save some money on our trip by the way that she scheduled the bus and the driver. The bus was clean and well-maintained. If we have need of bus services again we will remember our good experience. Thank you! Fr. Jim Shaughnessy

Reviewed By: Pastor
Travel Date: Aug. 18, 2012
Published on September 04, 2012 at 10:45 AM

Failure to Arrive for Scheduled Trip

Rating:

 

Our Church had been using First Student for about 1 year. They had missed a few pickups of our College students (at Carnegie Mellon and Pitt) due to the Pittsburgh Marathon or bad weather (First Student did not call us to let us know that they were not coming). We then scheduled them for our College Retreat. On the day of the Retreat - they called 2 hours before the pickup time to tell us they had no drivers for trip! This left 85 College students waiting at Carnegie Mellon / Pitt for the Retreat. We scheduled this trip 2 months in advance. First Student had no explanation, no alternative transport and no regard for our situation. We had to call another Bus Company that afternoon to find transportation for our students. Our Students waited hours and the Retreat had to start late. Calling First Student later, we found First Student to be unapologetic and did not care as we stopped doing business with them. I highly discourage use of this company.

Reviewed By: Elder Pittsburgh Chinese Church
Travel Date: January 2011
Published on August 23, 2012 at 11:21 AM

Great Job

Rating:

 

Excellent and courteous service. Prompt and great to do business with. Would use them again for sure.

Reviewed By: Richard Jack
Travel Date: 6-24-12
Published on July 07, 2012 at 01:20 PM

WSU Soccer Camp Rental

Rating:

 

Good service and responded to mistake made by bus company.

Reviewed By: Wright State Soccer
Travel Date: June 2012
Published on June 27, 2012 at 05:39 PM

Cherry Hill

Rating:

 

We used First Student and the bus driver was excellent. She arrived earlier than our departure time, got off the bus and greeted our children and was an excellent driver. Never, have we had a bus driver that smiled and was very professional. Kudos to "Suzette" (don't remember her last name) who work at First Student. We will be using this company again and definitely recommend any group to use their services!

Reviewed By:
Travel Date:
Published on June 20, 2012 at 06:08 PM

Great experience

Rating:

 

Lynda Olson, our contact at First Student, was very responsive, helpful and flexible. She advised us on parking at our destination, alternate routes due to road construction, and the best options for our group in terms of the types of vehicles she could provide. Our driver was professional and friendly, arrived on time for both pick-up and return, got us to our destinations safely, and was flexible in various requests for leaving articles on the bus, etc. Overall a great experience with First Student and would recommend for large group or team activities.

Reviewed By: A Tough Mudder Team
Travel Date: May 19, 2012
Published on June 11, 2012 at 10:22 AM

Bus Review for Ball

Rating:

 

Both of the buses were great! They were basically there on time and the bus drivers knew exactly where to go and when to get there. They were great!

Reviewed By:
Travel Date:
Published on June 08, 2012 at 07:04 AM

Submission Guidelines / Terms of Use